you're reading...
Cancer, Life's Challenges

Hope in the Valley

Holding Hands shadow on sand

Image via Wikipedia

It was four years ago today that I received a phone call at work. The gastroenterologist apologized then told me I had colon cancer. He told me what would happen next, the tests, the scans, the surgeries, the chemo; he told me I was too young to have cancer. But I heard little of it. I thanked him, hung up the phone, then finished my work day.

The following year brought fear and pain and stress like I’d never known before . . . but it also brought peace and comfort and assurance like I’d never experienced. There were times when I swear I physically felt God there with me.

I was thirty-five, married, three little girls. I needed to work. I needed to be there for my family. I needed to live.

There is never a good time for tragedy, never a time when a trial is welcome. We take a deep breath and go one day at a time, holding our Father’s hand the whole way and, as our forefathers put it, keep a “firm reliance on the protection of Divine Providence.”

Here are three things to keep in mind when navigating one of life’s valleys:

  • Keep your focus on God. He’s there, really. You may not feel His presence at the time but He is there, leading you, comforting you. Turn to His Word for encouragement and inspiration. Remember His promises.
  • Remember your suffering is only temporary. Nothing in this world is forever and that includes our trials. Compared to eternity, this life is but a vapor, here today, gone tomorrow. Sooner or later healing will come. That’s a promise.
  • Look for the blessings in every situation. They’re there, really. Sometimes you have to look hard to find them but they are there. Even in the darkest of times there is a speck of light.

There’s so much more on this topic and we’ll discuss it in the months to come. But for now, in whatever you’re going through . . . may the Lord bless you and keep you.

Have you gone through a trial and felt God’s presence right there with you?

About michaelkingbooks

I write stories of faith and family, love and loss, heartache and triumph. Here I blog about faith, relationships, and genuine living.

Discussion

5 thoughts on “Hope in the Valley

  1. What a wonderful way to start my day, Michael. Thank you for sharing your journey, for blessing us with the lessons you learned–gifts from our loving Father!

    Posted by Cathy Gohlke | March 17, 2012, 8:08 am
  2. I’ve gone through a lot of trials and tragedies, and normally I can focus on those three things you mentioned. But I’m going through a trial right now where I’ve been having trouble finding God. A boy who I used to teach in preteen Sunday school was killed in a car accident last Saturday. Even though I wasn’t teaching him anymore, we stayed close. I’ve watched this kid grow up. He’d just started his first job last Friday night. He was only 18 and a bright light for everyone around him.
    Sometimes it’s easy to get caught up in asking why and missing him that I forget that God’s still in control. So thank you for sharing, I really needed to hear this today.

    Posted by wmelinda | March 17, 2012, 9:05 am
    • Oh, Melinda, how terrible. No doubt there are times in life when we miss God, when we don’t feel His presence or hear His voice. The sorrow is overwhelming. My heart goes out to this boy’s family and everyone around him.

      Posted by michaelkingbooks | March 17, 2012, 9:36 am
  3. Michael,

    Sorry this is late. Congratulations on almost four years of being cancer free. I’ll be praying that you continue to be cancer free for that magic number five year. As a fellow colon cancer survivor, I agree completely with the things you listed to help navigate life’s valleys. Psalm 139 has been a great comfort to me in the past two years as I’ve faced cancer. God formed us in the womb and knows every word that will be on our tongue. All our days were written in His book before one of them came to be. What a comfort in the midst of uncertainty! Thanks again for your encouragement.

    Posted by Tom Leckrone | March 24, 2012, 3:29 pm
    • Tom, YOU an Lori have been such an inspiration to me as I’ve read about your journey through Lori’s updates. I’ve been praying for you and thinking about you often. I know the road has been challenging, way more challenging than it should have been. Thank you for your steadfast faith and example to all of us.

      Posted by michaelkingbooks | March 25, 2012, 5:58 am

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Follow Me on Pinterest

Twitter Updates

What readers are saying about A THOUSAND SLEEPLESS NIGHTS . . .

I have not been so deeply and utterly moved by a book in a very long time. A Thousand Sleepless Nights is a powerful and gripping novel that moved me greatly.
--Susan S.

A Thousand Sleeples Nights left me speechless as my heart and mind reconciled dealing with the trauma of cancer and a lifetime of regrets and finding God in the midst of it all. Sometimes a diagnosis of cancer can be God’s redemption.
--Jill J.

An emotionally steeped blessing of a story. One that pulled at my heart with one hand while holding a convicting mirror in the other.
--John U.

Great job. I hope and pray this book does for others what it did for me.
--Terri C.

I read A Thousand Sleepless Nights twice because it was that good. A very emotional story of a dysfunctional family, cancer, redemption and healing.
--Pat R.

I can really see how [this book] will be a blessing to many who have to face the devestation of cancer and loss.
--Tina H.

A Thousand Sleepless Nights will tug at your deepest emotions as it unfolds the evil of cancer and the power of relationships. The characters are endearing, real and relatable, as is the true battles they fight: illness, apathy, love, commitment and balancing life. King's novel strikes a vein, and sends hope to the heart of the matter--a fine read for anyone in need of healing.
--Donnalynn D.

This is a stirring novel that paints a great picture of cancer and its effects on not only those who have it, but their families and friends.
--Mark B.

A Thousand Sleepless Nights moved me so deeply I could not leave it alone until I’d read it completely. This bittersweet tale of illness--both physical and emotional--and the way lives are ultimately changed by its effects makes it a story for everyone, especially for those struggling to find forgiveness and healing.
--Claudette W.

A Thousand Sleepless Nights is a novel that touches you on a deep emotional level. It is a beautiful story about surviving, suffering, and what the true meaning of love is and how cancer, while devastating, can pull together a family torn apart by a past of neglect. A beautiful masterpiece!
--Joshua R.

Archives

March 2012
S M T W T F S
« Feb   Apr »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031
