you're reading...
Christian living, Life's Challenges

When God is Silent

Became Silence

Became Silence (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Have you ever experienced the silence of God?

It happens. We pray, we talk to God, we cry out to Him, and there is no response. The heavens are quiet and still. It seems our petitions never make it past our own atmosphere.

Is God ignoring us? Is He giving us the silent treatment? In our greatest time of need, is He too busy to respond to our pleas for help?

Our questions are nothing new. David struggled with this too. Over and over again. O God, where are you? Why won’t you answer me? Do you even hear my cries? Where is your voice? Where are the answers? The words of comfort? Why have you forsaken me?

Admittedly, God’s silence is often a fearful thing, frustrating, maddening.

So are we alone when He is silent? Has He abandoned us when we need Him most?

No. Here’s what I think. A few years back my oldest daughter, in third grade at the time, got an MP3 player for Christmas. Now, she was in third grade, we weren’t going to pay a lot for that kind of technology so she got a Disney model that did the job just fine and she was thrilled with it. When she returned to school she was so excited to tell her friends about her new gadget. When I got home from work I asked her how her day at school was and she started crying. The other girls laughed at her Disney MP3 player because they had all gotten iPods. My heart broke for her broken heart. (Even now, four years later, my throat gets tight and tears push on my eyes).

Do you know what I did? I tried offering words of comfort, tried telling her it didn’t matter what the other girls thought, tried saying the right things to take away her pain . . . but words didn’t help. She didn’t need words. She needed her daddy to just hold her.

And that’s what I did. I kept my mouth shut and just held her.

Folks, when God is silent, He hasn’t left us alone to struggle through our trial. When no words come, I believe that’s when He’s simply holding us close and protecting us with His love. Words aren’t necessary, only His presence.

“Be still and know that I am God.”

How do you handle God’s silence? How do you interpret it?

About michaelkingbooks

I write stories of faith and family, love and loss, heartache and triumph. Here I blog about faith, relationships, and genuine living.

Discussion

2 thoughts on “When God is Silent

  1. Beautiful post, Michael. How we hurt for our hurting children! And God does too.

    I still hurt sometimes over an incident concerning my sons many years ago. We joyously prepared Christmas gifts for three distant little girl cousins, in whose home we were having a family get-together after Christmas. We didn’t usually exchange gifts, but in this case I thought it would be good – kids always love gifts. There was even a gift for me from a niece with whom I always exchanged gifts. But because of our distant relationship with the cousins, there were no gifts for the boys, Lots for the girls because other relatives of theirs were there.

    My boys were stoic. I tried to explain in the car on the way home that the parents of the girls didn’t realize we’d be bringing gifts. Both said they understood – the 12-year-old probably did; the 7-year-old said it was okay, but I know he, who had so much fun wrapping the girls’ gifts, wondered as the many gifts were passed around, when one would come for him.

    I know he’s forgotten the incident, and BTW, he grew up to be a warm, inspiring, empathetic worship leader, now in his 40s.

    Posted by loishudson | March 26, 2012, 2:34 pm
    • Lois, thank you for sharing that. You should ask your son if he remembers the incident. I bet he does. We’ve had similar experiences with our girls. We want to shelter and protect our children as best we can but there are still times when they get hurt and all we can do is hurt with them.

      Posted by michaelkingbooks | March 26, 2012, 3:07 pm

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Follow Me on Pinterest

Twitter Updates

What readers are saying about A THOUSAND SLEEPLESS NIGHTS . . .

I have not been so deeply and utterly moved by a book in a very long time. A Thousand Sleepless Nights is a powerful and gripping novel that moved me greatly.
--Susan S.

A Thousand Sleeples Nights left me speechless as my heart and mind reconciled dealing with the trauma of cancer and a lifetime of regrets and finding God in the midst of it all. Sometimes a diagnosis of cancer can be God’s redemption.
--Jill J.

An emotionally steeped blessing of a story. One that pulled at my heart with one hand while holding a convicting mirror in the other.
--John U.

Great job. I hope and pray this book does for others what it did for me.
--Terri C.

I read A Thousand Sleepless Nights twice because it was that good. A very emotional story of a dysfunctional family, cancer, redemption and healing.
--Pat R.

I can really see how [this book] will be a blessing to many who have to face the devestation of cancer and loss.
--Tina H.

A Thousand Sleepless Nights will tug at your deepest emotions as it unfolds the evil of cancer and the power of relationships. The characters are endearing, real and relatable, as is the true battles they fight: illness, apathy, love, commitment and balancing life. King's novel strikes a vein, and sends hope to the heart of the matter--a fine read for anyone in need of healing.
--Donnalynn D.

This is a stirring novel that paints a great picture of cancer and its effects on not only those who have it, but their families and friends.
--Mark B.

A Thousand Sleepless Nights moved me so deeply I could not leave it alone until I’d read it completely. This bittersweet tale of illness--both physical and emotional--and the way lives are ultimately changed by its effects makes it a story for everyone, especially for those struggling to find forgiveness and healing.
--Claudette W.

A Thousand Sleepless Nights is a novel that touches you on a deep emotional level. It is a beautiful story about surviving, suffering, and what the true meaning of love is and how cancer, while devastating, can pull together a family torn apart by a past of neglect. A beautiful masterpiece!
--Joshua R.

Archives

March 2012
S M T W T F S
« Feb   Apr »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031
