you're reading...
Christian living, Life's Challenges

Learning to Two-Wheel It

Terror on Training Wheels

(Photo credit: Dawn Endico)

Several years ago I taught my daughters how to ride their bikes without the training wheels. Now, training wheels are great for beginners, but sooner or later everyone has to outgrow them.

Unfortunately for the training-wheeled rider, balancing a two-wheeler is harder—and scarier—than it looks. There’s a lot involved that we two-wheeled experts take for granted.

Like the inner ear for instance. Tiny crystals floating around in a labyrinth of semi-circular canals signal nerves to tell the brain where the head is in space. Even the slightest movements send crystals tumbling through the canal, notifying the brain that adjustments need to be made.

Or how about the eyes. The eyes focus on the horizon or some other stationary focal point sending messages along the optic nerve to the brain notifying central command of the exact position of the body in relation to the pre-determined point.

Then there’s the muscles. The hands grip the handle bars, the arms steady the torso, the trunk muscles make tiny adjustments in the location of the center of gravity, and the legs provide the power involved to propel the bicycle.

And all this has to be perfectly coordinated for a body to balance on two wheels.

That’s a lot for a six-year-old to contemplate.

Now all that wouldn’t be too bad except for one small thing that tends to disrupt the whole process—fear. Fear of losing control. Fear of falling. Fear of the cold introduction of flesh to concrete.

Fear clouds the circuitry in the brain and intercepts its messages that all systems are working fine.

So that is the challenge we had to overcome to convince my girls to ditch the training wheels and make the leap from four wheels to two.

The solution? I held the back of the seat to steady the bike while they pedaled and taught their brain and muscles to work in sync.

Oh, they had moments of fear, moments where they suddenly lost control and felt the bike falling beyond their ability to compensate. Their grip would tighten until their knuckles were white, their muscle would tense, and their eyes would widen like saucers as they focused on the concrete below them racing by.

But it was at those times when they had lost control that I tightened my grip on the seat and steadied the bike, keeping them from experiencing what they most feared—falling.

“Trust me,” I would say.  “I won’t let you fall.”

The Christian life is often like learning to ride a two-wheeler. We go peddling through life practicing our careful balancing act when we suddenly lose control. Fear rips at our mind as our spirit tenses and our heart races. We are sure we’re going to fall and brace ourselves for the pain that will ensue.

But then we feel our Father’s grip of grace steady our soul and realign us with His plan.

“Don’t fear,” He says in a calming voice. “Just trust me; I won’t let you fall.”

Remember that God has His hand on your life at all times. He’s there, right beside you, ready and waiting to steady you when you falter.

He never loosens His grip on your heart.

About michaelkingbooks

I write stories of faith and family, love and loss, heartache and triumph. Here I blog about faith, relationships, and genuine living.

Discussion

2 thoughts on “Learning to Two-Wheel It

  1. You’re a good parent. I still remember when my training wheels came off – although I’m not sure how I still remember this. It was frightening! Almost 30 years have gone by, and I’m still riding a bike, almost daily. It brings joy and interest to my life, it gives me regular exercise, and it gets me outdoors; this is as good for my emotional health as physical. Your children will benefit all their lives from your simple act of teaching them to ride on two wheels.

    Posted by Forrest | April 13, 2012, 11:59 am
  2. Trust can be a frightening thing sometimes. It’s something I struggle with every day. It’s funny how I don’t have a problem trusting my earthly father so much of the time, but when it comes to trusting my heavenly Father, I get a lot more skittish. Oddly enough, I was reading in a book this morning, Come Thirsty my Max Lucado, and the part I read said nearly exactly what this post is about. I guess God’s trying to tell me something. 🙂

    Posted by wmelinda | April 14, 2012, 10:11 am

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Follow Me on Pinterest

Twitter Updates

What readers are saying about A THOUSAND SLEEPLESS NIGHTS . . .

I have not been so deeply and utterly moved by a book in a very long time. A Thousand Sleepless Nights is a powerful and gripping novel that moved me greatly.
--Susan S.

A Thousand Sleeples Nights left me speechless as my heart and mind reconciled dealing with the trauma of cancer and a lifetime of regrets and finding God in the midst of it all. Sometimes a diagnosis of cancer can be God’s redemption.
--Jill J.

An emotionally steeped blessing of a story. One that pulled at my heart with one hand while holding a convicting mirror in the other.
--John U.

Great job. I hope and pray this book does for others what it did for me.
--Terri C.

I read A Thousand Sleepless Nights twice because it was that good. A very emotional story of a dysfunctional family, cancer, redemption and healing.
--Pat R.

I can really see how [this book] will be a blessing to many who have to face the devestation of cancer and loss.
--Tina H.

A Thousand Sleepless Nights will tug at your deepest emotions as it unfolds the evil of cancer and the power of relationships. The characters are endearing, real and relatable, as is the true battles they fight: illness, apathy, love, commitment and balancing life. King's novel strikes a vein, and sends hope to the heart of the matter--a fine read for anyone in need of healing.
--Donnalynn D.

This is a stirring novel that paints a great picture of cancer and its effects on not only those who have it, but their families and friends.
--Mark B.

A Thousand Sleepless Nights moved me so deeply I could not leave it alone until I’d read it completely. This bittersweet tale of illness--both physical and emotional--and the way lives are ultimately changed by its effects makes it a story for everyone, especially for those struggling to find forgiveness and healing.
--Claudette W.

A Thousand Sleepless Nights is a novel that touches you on a deep emotional level. It is a beautiful story about surviving, suffering, and what the true meaning of love is and how cancer, while devastating, can pull together a family torn apart by a past of neglect. A beautiful masterpiece!
--Joshua R.

Archives

April 2012
S M T W T F S
« Mar   May »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  
