you're reading...
Christian living, Parenting

Even In Our Vomit

168 sick concripts by asian flu in a sport are...

(Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Flu season was upon us.

Jen and I were sleeping peacefully when I heard our bedroom door open. Climbing out of my deep sleep I saw daughter #2 standing in the doorway looking very pale and discomfited. I looked at the clock—2:12—and snorted. But before I could say anything she coughed and proceeded to be sick all over herself, the floor, and the throw rug.

I nudged Jen awake (she grunted and tried to roll over but I wouldn’t let her), jumped out of bed, and rushed #2 off to the bathroom. A few minutes later I discovered she had been sick in her bed as well.

Wait.  It gets worse.

While Jen cleaned #2 and changed her clothes I pulled the sheets off the bed and replaced them with clean ones. While doing this I heard some commotion in the bathroom again only to find out daughter #3 was also sick—and had been sick in her bed.

More sheets to change, more tears to dry, more . . . sickness . . . to clean up. Needless to say, it wasn’t a pretty sight (parents reading this are no doubt nodding their heads, fully aware of what the scene looked, and, ahem, smelled like).

An hour later we were climbing back into bed only to spend the remaining hours of the night making numerous trips (mostly false alarms) to the bathroom.

I apologize for the somewhat graphic depiction of our little visit from the flu bug. I realize it is a most unpleasant experience and one most of us don’t like to talk about, especially in such detail.

But I do have a point. We parents love our children. We love them when they are lovely, of course—when their hair is tidy and pulled up into little pigtails, when their clothes are clean and well-pressed, and when their manners are sharp and timely.

But we also love them when they are unlovely—when they are sick and cranky and smelly, and when they get us up at two o’clock and make us dirty our hands with their vomit.

Maybe you see where I’m going with this, but in case you don’t, let me point the way. We, as God’s children, have not (and are not) always been lovely. There was a time when we were lost and filthy, when our best intentions were nothing more than used, soiled rags, and when we wallowed in our own vomit of sin.

But God still loved us. In fact, He loved us so much He sacrificed everything for us. The Bible says that God demonstrated His love toward us, in that while we were still sinners, Christ died for us.

While we were still sinners—while we were dirty, smelly, soiled children, most unlovable—God looked down on us and loved us. And He loves us still, not only when we are well-behaved, obedient, and walking in step with His will, but when we stumble and fall, when we are hit with the flu bug of selfishness and arrogance, and when we are sick from habitual sin and cranky from constant failures.

Our Father loves us and is not afraid of getting His hands dirty to pull us up out of the mire and set us on the solid ground of His love.

Question: How are you daily reminded of God’s love for you?

About michaelkingbooks

I write stories of faith and family, love and loss, heartache and triumph. Here I blog about faith, relationships, and genuine living.

Discussion

5 thoughts on “Even In Our Vomit

  1. Your very graphic story served as the perfect reminder of what God did for me when he saved me from my wretched sins and made me his beautiful child. Thank you for posting.

    Posted by Carol Holdefer | April 30, 2012, 8:42 am
    • It is quite a remarkable word-picture, isn’t it Carol? God, the maker of the universe, bending low to clean us of our filth and lift us out of the mire. It’s what Jesus did when he dwelt among us and got his holy hands dirty wiping the vomit off of each one of us.

      Posted by michaelkingbooks | April 30, 2012, 8:50 am
  2. Love this…even the graphic nature. I/we have our 6yr old grandson with us almost everyday while his mommy works. I am continually touched by the freshness of his wonder and love. And oddly enough, God sometimes even uses our dogs to niggle me in my spirit. Thanks for the reminder to keep looking for those whispers of love!

    Posted by goldenprayerbear | April 30, 2012, 6:40 pm
  3. I just wanted to say thank you so much for your posts. I always feel like I’m getting a mini sermon and a school lesson all in one. On many days that is what I need. You have such a way with words, well I suppose you would being a great author. But in all seriousness, anyone who reads your posts can see clearly how it is so important for people to see Christ in you. Not only does it show how much you love him and how much you want to serve him but you write it all so beautifully.

    Thank You

    Posted by Terri Conrad | April 30, 2012, 7:40 pm

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Follow Me on Pinterest

Twitter Updates

What readers are saying about A THOUSAND SLEEPLESS NIGHTS . . .

I have not been so deeply and utterly moved by a book in a very long time. A Thousand Sleepless Nights is a powerful and gripping novel that moved me greatly.
--Susan S.

A Thousand Sleeples Nights left me speechless as my heart and mind reconciled dealing with the trauma of cancer and a lifetime of regrets and finding God in the midst of it all. Sometimes a diagnosis of cancer can be God’s redemption.
--Jill J.

An emotionally steeped blessing of a story. One that pulled at my heart with one hand while holding a convicting mirror in the other.
--John U.

Great job. I hope and pray this book does for others what it did for me.
--Terri C.

I read A Thousand Sleepless Nights twice because it was that good. A very emotional story of a dysfunctional family, cancer, redemption and healing.
--Pat R.

I can really see how [this book] will be a blessing to many who have to face the devestation of cancer and loss.
--Tina H.

A Thousand Sleepless Nights will tug at your deepest emotions as it unfolds the evil of cancer and the power of relationships. The characters are endearing, real and relatable, as is the true battles they fight: illness, apathy, love, commitment and balancing life. King's novel strikes a vein, and sends hope to the heart of the matter--a fine read for anyone in need of healing.
--Donnalynn D.

This is a stirring novel that paints a great picture of cancer and its effects on not only those who have it, but their families and friends.
--Mark B.

A Thousand Sleepless Nights moved me so deeply I could not leave it alone until I’d read it completely. This bittersweet tale of illness--both physical and emotional--and the way lives are ultimately changed by its effects makes it a story for everyone, especially for those struggling to find forgiveness and healing.
--Claudette W.

A Thousand Sleepless Nights is a novel that touches you on a deep emotional level. It is a beautiful story about surviving, suffering, and what the true meaning of love is and how cancer, while devastating, can pull together a family torn apart by a past of neglect. A beautiful masterpiece!
--Joshua R.

Archives

April 2012
S M T W T F S
« Mar   May »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  
