you're reading...
The Darlington Society

The Darlington Society, Season II, Open Call for Membership

Last year I came up with the idea for The Darlington Society. I was feeling a bit overwhelmed with my writing and life in general and decided I needed some support group.

25 charter members were chosen and we spent nine months interacting, encouraging each other, praying, and supporting. They were my A-team and, looking back, so much happened that wouldn’t have if I didn’t have them in my corner. I was blessed and I hope they were too. Overall, I think it was a great success.

So I’d like to do it again. This time we’re looking for 30 members.

Interested? Here’s what you have to do:

One, read over the details of the Society again and please make sure this is something you want to commit to for five months. I’m excited about getting to know some of my readers better and working with them to reach more people with my books. If you’re a member, I’m betting you’ll count it a positive experience. We’ll be a blessing to each other.

Two, today, June 18, through Wednesday, June 20, post a comment on this blog or my other blog telling me in a few sentences why you want to be a part of the Society.

I’ll read over those posts, pray about them, and announce the 30 new members on Friday, June 22.

**Now, a disclaimer is necessary. I have readers overseas who I know will want to be a part of this. That’s okay. We’re not going to exclude anyone just because they live in a different country. That would hardly be fair. BUT, please understand we can’t send hard copies of ARCs/manuscripts overseas, the postage is just too much. If you live outside the US you will recieve the early reader’s copy of my next book via email as an electronic edition.

Lastly, please help spread the word about this unique opportunity by sharing this post on Facebook and Twitter and maybe even your own blog.

I’m looking forward to reading all your comments and embarking on a new journey with you.

Please note: This term of The Darlington Society is for A Thousand Sleepless Nights.

Questions? Please leave it as a comment and I’ll do my best to answer them.

About michaelkingbooks

I write stories of faith and family, love and loss, heartache and triumph. Here I blog about faith, relationships, and genuine living.

Discussion

7 thoughts on “The Darlington Society, Season II, Open Call for Membership

  1. Mike, I thoroughly enjoyed my membership in the first Darlington Society event. I counted it a privilege to pray for you and my fellow members. I made some friends, too! Your writing has always encouraged and blessed me as a fellow believer in Jesus Christ. You’ve never been hesitant to proclaim the Gospel of Jesus Christ and that is the thing I like most about your writing. Your books are not those that make the reader wonder why they’re on the Christian shelf! I would be honored to be a part of this second round if you feel led by God to choose me.

    Posted by Susan Snodgrass | June 18, 2012, 6:39 am
  2. Hi Mike,
    I’ll start by saying I respect, appreciate and have been inspired by the ministry you offer through your blogs and books.
    While I first thought the Darlington Society was a unique idea for an author, I remembered that this kind of system was described in the Bible; from Jesus sending his disciples out in twos, the calling of the twelve disciples and even groups gathering together in churches, all of these designed for individuals to become various parts of the Body of Christ for supporting each other in the goal of delivering the news of God’s grace and love through Jesus’ sacrifice on the cross.
    I would love to help in whatever capacity I can offer for this purpose.

    Posted by John | June 18, 2012, 7:34 am
  3. I am an avid fan of your suspense novels, and the new novella. I’ve read all of your books, follow your blog, and have told many others about your writing. I am so excited that you are moving to the new genre–your writing needs to reach a larger audience: those who won’t even consider supernatural suspense. A Thousand Sleepless Nights is going to bring many new fans to your books. I would be honored to be a prayer and promotional partner with you.

    Posted by Vie H. | June 18, 2012, 7:42 am
  4. Hi, MIke, I don’t know that I would be a great candidate for you society, I won’t even ask. I don’t have a lot of time to read blogs, and I haven’t read the novella, (but I know I would like to). But your work has inspired me to just read!…Something i haven’t enjoyed doing my whole life. Even though I am not a part of your society, I will continue to pray for you to be a blessing to others, an inspired writer, and a faithful man of God. I enjoy our Sunday morning chats over panera bread, and with joy and honor I will stand with you there…I’ll happily be your kitchen support. I’ll be cheering you on in my prayers, and I hope that knowing a nonreader LOVES your books encourages you to do more.

    Posted by mary | June 18, 2012, 8:08 am
  5. The focus of my faith journey this year has been prayer. I have had several different kinds of opportunities to be a supporter and encourager through prayer. Each one blesses my socks right off. I don’t believe it was by accident that your name popped up on my twitter suggestion list, or that I have been touched by your blog posts. I would consider it an honor (OK, and pretty cool) to be a part of this prayer and support ministry.

    Posted by goldenprayerbear | June 18, 2012, 8:51 am
  6. I would love to be a member of the Darlington Society to help further your ministry, blessing you and others with prayer and encouragement. As a writer I understand the need for interaction with others. I also understand the deception that writing needs to be a solitary endeavor. Being a member of the Darlington Society would also help me to learn that I need to be ministered to as well and be reminded that I am not a lone ranger out here in the world. Being a fan of your writing, I would also enjoy spreading the word about your upcoming books, which in turn helps spread the gospel. Ultimately I pray God’s will here and wish to be used however He sees fit. I appreciate you prayerfully considering me for the Darlington Society and will continually lift you and your family in my prayers. God bless, Mike.

    Posted by Shane Werlinger (@FMcButter) | June 18, 2012, 9:46 am
  7. I would love to be a part of this and see how a book is written and published from biginniing to end. However, I would not be a good choice. I only have 15 friends on facebook, I don’t blog and I live in the middle of 45 acres of woods. It’s not like I see a lot of people. Besides I’m really not good with words. I will be praying for this group of people and you and your family through this process. I have been praying for you since I found you as an author when I dowloaded “Scream”. Lots of luck to everyone and have a great time.

    Posted by Terri Conrad | June 18, 2012, 10:37 am

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Follow Me on Pinterest

Twitter Updates

What readers are saying about A THOUSAND SLEEPLESS NIGHTS . . .

I have not been so deeply and utterly moved by a book in a very long time. A Thousand Sleepless Nights is a powerful and gripping novel that moved me greatly.
--Susan S.

A Thousand Sleeples Nights left me speechless as my heart and mind reconciled dealing with the trauma of cancer and a lifetime of regrets and finding God in the midst of it all. Sometimes a diagnosis of cancer can be God’s redemption.
--Jill J.

An emotionally steeped blessing of a story. One that pulled at my heart with one hand while holding a convicting mirror in the other.
--John U.

Great job. I hope and pray this book does for others what it did for me.
--Terri C.

I read A Thousand Sleepless Nights twice because it was that good. A very emotional story of a dysfunctional family, cancer, redemption and healing.
--Pat R.

I can really see how [this book] will be a blessing to many who have to face the devestation of cancer and loss.
--Tina H.

A Thousand Sleepless Nights will tug at your deepest emotions as it unfolds the evil of cancer and the power of relationships. The characters are endearing, real and relatable, as is the true battles they fight: illness, apathy, love, commitment and balancing life. King's novel strikes a vein, and sends hope to the heart of the matter--a fine read for anyone in need of healing.
--Donnalynn D.

This is a stirring novel that paints a great picture of cancer and its effects on not only those who have it, but their families and friends.
--Mark B.

A Thousand Sleepless Nights moved me so deeply I could not leave it alone until I’d read it completely. This bittersweet tale of illness--both physical and emotional--and the way lives are ultimately changed by its effects makes it a story for everyone, especially for those struggling to find forgiveness and healing.
--Claudette W.

A Thousand Sleepless Nights is a novel that touches you on a deep emotional level. It is a beautiful story about surviving, suffering, and what the true meaning of love is and how cancer, while devastating, can pull together a family torn apart by a past of neglect. A beautiful masterpiece!
--Joshua R.

Archives

June 2012
S M T W T F S
« May   Jul »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
