you're reading...
Christian living, Personal living

The Most Important YOU!

The spiral galaxy Messier 81 is tilted at an o...

The spiral galaxy Messier 81 (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

If you’ve ever read through the Bible, or at least through the Old Testament, you’ve had to deal with 1 Chronicles 1-9. Most people either get bogged down there or skip that portion of Scripture altogether. It’s a literary mud pit, the Biblical equivalent to the dog days of summer. Nine chapters of nothing but names.

Here’s a sampling from chapter 4:

The descendants of Judah: Perez, Hezron, Karmi, Hur and Shobal. Reaiah son of Shobal was the father of Jahath, and Jahath the father of Ahumai and Lahad. These were the clans of the Zorathites.

These were the sons of Etam: Jezreel, Ishma and Idbash. Their sister was named Hazzelelponi. Penuel was the father of Gedor, and Ezer the father of Hushah.

You get the picture. Nine chapters of that. And though it’s the most prominent stretch of wordy doldrums, it’s not the only place it occurs in Scripture.

So what’s the point of all this? Well, there is one, I can assure you of that. And I believe one of the intentions is to show us the importance God puts on people. To God, people matter. Individuals matter. Etam and Ishma and Ezer . . . they matter. YOU matter.

Here’s a little assignment for you. On the next clear night go outside and look up at the sky. Don’t just glance at it, I mean really look at it. See the stars, study the stars, the constellations, the wonderment of the heavens. Or better yet, take a telescope and point it skyward. The glory of the night sky is rivaled by little in God’s creation.

But do you know what God has to say about all those stars? Genesis 1:16 says, “He also made the stars.”

An afterthought. Nine chapters (and more) of names, people, individuals; five words about the stars.

See, you are the crown jewel of God’s creation. You. Compared to you, the beauties of the heavens, those stars sprinkled across the night sky like diamond chips . . . they’re an afterthought.

It’s as if God is crossing the expanse of eternity to reach down and take your hand and say, “I love you. You have incredible worth to me because I created you. YOU. Oh yeah, and I made the stars also.”

Do you struggle with self-worth? What reminds you of the love God has for you? Of the worth he places on you?

(I invite you to check out my other blog too. www.mikedellosso.wordpress.com)

About michaelkingbooks

I write stories of faith and family, love and loss, heartache and triumph. Here I blog about faith, relationships, and genuine living.

Discussion

9 thoughts on “The Most Important YOU!

  1. Reblogged this on MIKE DELLOSSO and commented:

    Compared to you, everything else is just an afterthought to God.

    Posted by mikedellosso | June 21, 2012, 6:21 am
  2. Psalm 139 is a great reminder to me of God’s love, His detail in creating me and His intimate knowledge of me. It was a tremendous help to me in the midst of some very difficult circumstances.

    Posted by Tom Leckrone | June 21, 2012, 7:07 am
  3. It is said that our lives flash before us when we die. I believe when Jesus died, it was our lives, not His that flashed before Him.

    Posted by John | June 21, 2012, 7:47 am
  4. I like how you said that, Mike: “You have incredible worth to me BECAUSE I CREATED YOU.” (emphasis added) The star of creation is not us, it is God. The only reason we have any worth at all is because God made us in His image. The words of Psalm 8:3-4 come to mind “When I consider Your heavens, the work of Your fingers, The moon and the stars, which You have ordained; What is man that You take thought of him, And the son of man that You care for him?” Truly amazing.

    Posted by Bob Hammond | June 21, 2012, 12:30 pm
  5. Great message Mike. Thank you…Ian

    Posted by Ian | June 21, 2012, 6:12 pm
  6. Mike thank you for your blog, I look forward to reading it, now I am going to share what you have tought me with my co-workers. God is good

    Posted by Mike Hunt | June 21, 2012, 6:18 pm
  7. Wow, that’s all I can really say to this. I never quite put it together that way in my mind before. I think next time I come across the long geneologies, I’ll pay a little closer attention to them. It’s also a great reminder that not only am I important to God like that, but so is EVERYONE I come across. It only makes sense for me to see them the say way He does.

    Posted by Melinda Williams | June 22, 2012, 10:07 am

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Follow Me on Pinterest

Twitter Updates

What readers are saying about A THOUSAND SLEEPLESS NIGHTS . . .

I have not been so deeply and utterly moved by a book in a very long time. A Thousand Sleepless Nights is a powerful and gripping novel that moved me greatly.
--Susan S.

A Thousand Sleeples Nights left me speechless as my heart and mind reconciled dealing with the trauma of cancer and a lifetime of regrets and finding God in the midst of it all. Sometimes a diagnosis of cancer can be God’s redemption.
--Jill J.

An emotionally steeped blessing of a story. One that pulled at my heart with one hand while holding a convicting mirror in the other.
--John U.

Great job. I hope and pray this book does for others what it did for me.
--Terri C.

I read A Thousand Sleepless Nights twice because it was that good. A very emotional story of a dysfunctional family, cancer, redemption and healing.
--Pat R.

I can really see how [this book] will be a blessing to many who have to face the devestation of cancer and loss.
--Tina H.

A Thousand Sleepless Nights will tug at your deepest emotions as it unfolds the evil of cancer and the power of relationships. The characters are endearing, real and relatable, as is the true battles they fight: illness, apathy, love, commitment and balancing life. King's novel strikes a vein, and sends hope to the heart of the matter--a fine read for anyone in need of healing.
--Donnalynn D.

This is a stirring novel that paints a great picture of cancer and its effects on not only those who have it, but their families and friends.
--Mark B.

A Thousand Sleepless Nights moved me so deeply I could not leave it alone until I’d read it completely. This bittersweet tale of illness--both physical and emotional--and the way lives are ultimately changed by its effects makes it a story for everyone, especially for those struggling to find forgiveness and healing.
--Claudette W.

A Thousand Sleepless Nights is a novel that touches you on a deep emotional level. It is a beautiful story about surviving, suffering, and what the true meaning of love is and how cancer, while devastating, can pull together a family torn apart by a past of neglect. A beautiful masterpiece!
--Joshua R.

Archives

June 2012
S M T W T F S
« May   Jul »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
